My Daughter The Civil Rights Activist

I’ve always been very interested in our government and the process by which we select our governing official. So, it should come as no surprise to me and those who know me that my daughter is as well. I just don’t think anyone expected it to come in to play at such a young age.

Last Thursday we had to run an errand. The place we had to go was right next to the voting registration office, an early voter location. Ella was curious to know why there were so many people in line outside. I told her they were there to vote. “What’s vote?” Asked my ever inquisitive two year old. I explained that voting was how a group of people could make a decision about something. I used the following example:

“If everyone was at Gigi’s house for dinner, Mommy, Daddy, Ella, Hazel, Gigi, Poppi, (the list went on) and we had to choose what was for dinner, then that would mean we had to make a decision. If Gigi said everyone had to pick either chicken or pizza and the one that the most people picked would be what we had for dinner, then what each person picked would be their vote.” 

“I vote for pizza,” was her response.

I was rather impressed that she seemed to understand the concept. “What are they voting for?” She asked a few minutes later. Really? Was she actually following this through in her little mind?

” Well, they are voting for a lot of things, but the BIG thing they are voting for is the President of the United States of America.”  

Of course this was immediately followed by her asking “What is the Umited States ‘Merica?” and just behind that was “What’s a president?”

“We live on a big piece of the world called the United States of America. That is our country. I will show you in a map book later. The President is the person who is sort of like the mommy or daddy and makes lots of decisions for our country.”


Ok, so this might not have been a wholly accurate description, but for a two year old it seemed to get the basics across. Again, I thought the discussion was over.  When we left the building we were in and she saw the lines of people again and this is what happened…

This clip actually ended up on The Special Report with Bret Baier. I am hoping to get a copy of the clip and will post that when I can. It wrapped up the show and had the panel chuckling.

Tuesday Ella jumped out of bed when I told her that she got to go with mommy to vote. She was soooo excited. We showered and dressed in record time. I stopped by McDonald’s to get my first Peppermint Hot Chocolate of the season, a couple of packs of apples in case we had to wait and cookies to celebrate completion of my/our civic duty. Then we were ready to face the poll and the icky rainy cold weather, I was happy to see that although there was a line it wasn’t too bad. Here are some pics of Ella’s first voting experience.

Her shirt says “Future President”

Waiting in line. She learned a hard lesson early, sometimes fashion has to be put aside for inclement weather.

Another sign!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ciel Lune
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 03:13:52

    too cute :3

    Reply

  2. Gen
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 08:14:58

    I hope she does run for president some day. She’s got my vote already.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

