It’s O’s First Birthday, Charlie Brown!

First, let me apologize for this very delayed post.  O turned one about three weeks ago, but we then had a minor crisis and a major crisis back to back:  first, O had an allergic reaction to an antibiotic and nearly wound up in the ER (minor crisis), and in the midst of recouping from this we were hit hard by Hurricane Sandy.  Long Island has been hit hard by it, and I’ve been participating in a lot of charity events to help raise money to support those in need (check my Etsy shop for some Long Island items that are up for sale with proceeds benefitting hurricane relief programs).  We were very fortunate to escape unscathed (despite many days without power or heat, school shutting down because of damage, family who lost a lot of personal effects… all told, we’re alive).  For now, we’re holding up though, and it’s high time I shared a bit about O’s 1st birthday!

I made a lot of the decor myself (I’ll post some of those pics another time), but I outsourced two things:  the cake (I had lofty goals and not nearly enough time or skill, despite my love of baking) and the cake pops.  While they seem incredibly easy, it turns out they are SO not! I’ve tried a handful of times and they are just… well, ugly.  Thank goodness I found Monica from Rendezvous Sweets on Etsy!  Her cake pops were so cute and tasty looking, it was one of the best decisions I made to have her make the pops.  She sent me two dozen delicious cake pops designed to fit O’s party theme: It’s O’s Birthday, Charlie Brown!  One dozen of them were cute little pumpkins, complete with pretzel sticks for stems, and the other dozen were actually Charlie Brown! My guests loved them and absolutely devoured them (after admiring their cuteness, of course).  She even through in samples of her chocolate covered marshmallows, pretzels and Oreos (mmmm yes please!.. don’t tell my guests- I ate those and didn’t put them out for the party!).  I made stands for her cake pops using metal tins from the Target dollar spot and vinyl decals.  I glued round foam balls to the bottoms of the tins, pressed the cake pop sticks in and then added green tissue paper in between for a grassy effect.  Voila!

Take a look:

Rendezvous Sweets cake pops

Cake pops by Rendezvous Sweets

So, would you like a chance to win some tasty treats from Rendezvous Sweets? Monica is offering one of our viewers a sampler pack of 3 cake pops, 3 chocolate covered pretzel sticks, 3 marshmallow sticks and 3 chocolate coveted Oreos! I hope you have a sweet tooth 🙂 Here’s how to win:

  • “Like” Rendezvous Sweets on their Facebook page (click here) and write on their wall that you are stopping in from “We Don’t Need Sleep”
  • Leave a comment here when you’re done and tell us what flavor you hope to get in your FREE SAMPLE PACK if you win!  The winner will be announced in the coming days, so keep checking back to see if it’s you!

❤ Kristin

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa Vasquez
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 22:46:05

    German chocolate sounds delicious!

    Reply

  2. livingsimplyfree
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 01:14:07

    I hope you are recovering from the Hurricane, I have been concerned about all the people without heat while trying to deal with the cold now. Btw, I tried to go to your etsy store from your link in the post, it’s not working, thought you would like to know.

    Reply

    • Crafty Kristin
      Nov 06, 2012 @ 06:05:11

      Thank you for the heads up! That’s what happens when I blog on very little sleep 🙂 We are holding up okay, but are luckier than most. I appreciate your thinking of all of us right now!

      Reply

  3. Sara Burke-Edwards
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 09:27:04

    Done! I can’t find the flavors.. But anything Chocolate/Peanut butter would be heavenly..They are so stinking cute!!

    If there is anything I can do to help donate for the hurricane let me know!!

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 17:03:13

    Chocolate or choco/pb are ALWAYS good. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Nikie Paul
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 23:02:57

    I would love to receive a sample pack for the gender reveal…..plain vanilla with black and pink sprinkles….cute!!

    Reply

  6. Sarah P.
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 23:12:53

    How can I turn down a chance for free sugar??? I’d take the Hello Kitty or Charlie Brown (because I have a little Charlie boy, myself)! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Ashley
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 13:17:58

    I am a dummy and didn’t realize you guys were still blogging! I think the work you are doing to help the victims up there is amazing and I wish you the best of luck helping people get back on their feet.

    Chocolate or vanilla are always a hit in my book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

