Autumn Acorn Craft

Being a stay at home mom, I go on A LOT of walks. We go at least once a day if not more when the weather allows. We have multiple walk then play meetups a week. Walking is a BIG part of our activities. When it’s just the girls and me walking, Ella and I like to talk about what we see and hear. In the last 2 months as the weather has changed, she has been eager to scope out the changing colors in the leaves, then sad to see them falling, and then ecstatic to discover ACORNS!

She is constantly bringing home as many acorns as her tiny hands can carry or that she can beg me into holding for her. They have been building up in a pile on the back porch, and attracting squirrels. I HATE squirrels. So last night I decided we would start using them for, well, something.

First up… ACORN PAINTING ART! Sort of like found art but instead of the acorns being the art, they helped make the art!

WHAT YOU NEED

  • acorn
  • shoe-box
  • paper
  • paint
  • tape

Direction

  1. cut paper to fit box and place inside of box
  2. put several dollops of paint on the paper in the box
  3. toss the acorns in the box (The kids enjoyed this!)
  4. Close and tape the lid shut
  5. SHAKE! RATTLE! and ROLL!! Those acorns around the box!

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. livingsimplyfree
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 00:40:30

    How simple, we collected acorns spontaneously Tuesday when we found the grass and sidewalk in front of the post office just filled with the. Luckily, I had my reusable bag with me and we just filled it up until my grandson was ready to move on. We too go on a lot of walks and are always talking about what we see and hear. Just he other day my grand daughter came running in when she arrived to tell me I had to go outside to see the white thing in the sky.

    Reply

  2. shakerattleandpoop
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 02:10:43

    I love it! We do walks almost every day, too, and will be definitely do something like this now. Thanks for the nice idea 🙂

    Reply

    • CallieMommy
      Oct 19, 2012 @ 12:14:17

      Glad you like it! I hope you have as much fun as we did! I have a video of each child shaking their boxes but I’m not super video savvy yet… I need to get it up here though because it’s too cute!

      Reply

  3. Lisa
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 13:16:46

    We have a lot of trees & a LOT of acorns in our yard. We collected a bucket-full & we’ve been doing acorn crafts ever since. One of my favorites so far: cut out 6 inch leaf shapes on card stock. Let the 2YO glue acorns on to cover the leaf completely. After the glue was dry he decorated the acorns with paint & glitter! I punched a hole through the paper at the top, strung it with ribbon & hung it from magnet hooks on the door. Now they’re our fall decorations. We’ll try the box painting next – thanks Callie 🙂

    Reply

  4. livingsimplyfree
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 00:41:48

    I have just nominated you for the Liebster Award, congrats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

