Raves and Reviews: Dirty Girl Apothecary (Win Something, too!)

PRIZE ALERT!

THE WINNER OF THIS WONDERFUL PRIZE IS MICHELE BERKOWITZ! CONGRATS, MICHELE!

Send us a private message on fb with your address to claim your prize!

Thank you so much, Jenn, for providing this weeks giveaway!

You’ve figured out by now that I’m obsessed with Etsy, right?  I am on Etsy probably more than most people Google.  Aside from being on my own shop with my paper and vinyl crafts and party decor, my favorite thing to do on Etsy is to peruse the categories that I don’t often get to see with the products I sell.  Lately it’s been spa/bath/pampering products, as the stress of going back to work has taken over.  That’s how I found Jenn from Dirty Girl Gardening and Apothecary.  The name caught my eye (okay, it made me giggle), and the more I looked through her shop the more I had to try some of her natural products.  I was lucky enough to try her lavender sugar scrub, two french clay mud masks, a bath tea and rose water sprays.

A delicious lavender sugar scrub, two mud masks and a bath tea from Dirty Girl Gardening! The rose water spray is missing, thanks to my mother 🙂

Her mud masks were packaged in tiny cute little tubes like smelling salts and made them easy to stash in the bathroom cabinet next to my facial cleansers so I wouldn’t forget to use it.  The single use size is perfect for someone like me who doesn’t want to commit to a large jar something I’m not sure I’ll like or have time to use regularly.  I used it one evening after the baby went down to bed earlier than usual and I found myself up with nothing to do (crazy, right?!).  I’ve never loved the feeling of a mud mask tightening on my face and becoming all stiff, but this mask didn’t leave me checking the clock every 30 seconds waiting to wash it off.  It was a dark green powder that just needed to be mixed with a little water and then patted on.  There really wasn’t any strong fragrance and my skin felt nice and firm yet clean when I washed it off.  It’s small size made it perfect to toss the extra one into my travel bag so I would have a nice surprise to pamper myself with the next time we head out overnight somewhere.

Single use sizes are perfect!

The Bath tea was just so super cute! Packaged like a real tea bag, I just dipped it in the bath water and let some of the herbs and fragrance seep out.  I tend to be very sensitive to scents, so I was cautious with the bath tea and only dipped it a few times for a touch of fragrance.  Someone a little more daring could probably leave it to soak in the tub and really benefit from all of the natural and organic ingredients that Garden Apothecary prides themselves on using.

My absolute favorite of all of the products I tried was the lavender sugar scrub.  It smelled luscious and sweet when I opened the lid and I couldn’t wait to use it.  The scrub was gritty in texture and I knew I was going to get a good exfoliation out of it (don’t you just hate those products that call themselves a scrub but it’s really a lotion with some salt tossed in?).  I could see large chunks of the natural and organic herbs right there in the jar and I knew I wasn’t covering myself in a ton of unknown junk.  Everything was written right there on the label, no mysteries involved.  The scrub left my skin feeling super smooth all night, and even the next day I found myself impressed that my legs still felt smooth.  My one and only criticism of the scrub is that I wish there was an option to purchase it in a plastic jar.  The glass jar is very elegant and apothecary-like, and I’m sure has a much smaller carbon footprint, but I have a tiny bathroom with no counter space and leave most of my bath products around the edge of the tub.  With a 10 month old who loves to touch anything that he’s not supposed to, I found myself having to take the sugar scrub out of the bathroom every night for his bathtime because I was afraid he’d grab it and drop it in the tub.  But that’s just me- most people do not have shoeboxes for bathrooms like I do, so that might not be an issue for anyone else.  Sadly, I did not get to try the rose water sample.  My sneaky mother snatched it off of my counter when she was over for a visit and took it home with her because she loved it so much! Her review of it was simply that “it was perfect”, and since all of the other things I tried from Dirty Girl were amazing… I’m inclined to believe her 🙂

I love that part of the directions on the bottle includes “Be nice to people”!

Interested in learning more about how these products are made?  Their website and blog has a lot of info about their locally grown and organic ingredients.  Check it out at www.dirtygirlgarden.com.

So, would you like a chance to win something from Jenn’s shop over at Dirty Girl Gardening Apothecary Company?  She has generously offered to give one of our readers a vanilla sugar scrub (yay!!) and a mud mask.  Here’s how you can win:

  1. Follow our blog by clicking the ‘follow’ link on this page.
  2. Head over to Jenn’s facebook page– ‘like’ Dirty Girl Gardening AND leave a comment that you’ve stopped in from wedontneedsleep.wordpress.com.
  3. Leave a comment here on this post- What product from Jenn’s shop are you most excited about? There’s a lot to choose from!
  4. If you’d like to earn extra chances to win, share our facebook page status on your page and encourage some friends to sign up too.  For each one that mentions your name in their comment here, you’ll earn an extra entry in the drawing later this week.

Good luck!

Kristin and Callie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele Berkowitz
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:23:15

    oooh ooh, that lavender sugar scrub sounds yummy!!!

    Reply

  2. Vanessa Vasquez
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 10:00:41

    Either the Rose water spray or the Rose sugar scrub. It’s so hard to pick just one!

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 09:41:18

    I would love the lavender sugar scrub!!

    Reply

  4. Theresa
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 11:35:04

    The bath tea sounds wonderful!!!

    Reply

  5. Dolly
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 11:46:17

    I think I like the mud mask!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

