Has Craft Clutter Taken Control?

I’m an artist at heart, so I LOVE that Ella Grace enjoys craft time. What I could do without, are all the random pieces of scribble paper that she refuses to let me throw away. I’m sure any parent reading this can relate. There are only so many pieces of copy paper with nonsense scribble that even a parent can keep and cherish.

Last week I happened to see the new-ish Crayola Dry Erase crayons and the mind wheels started spinning.

Even better than an extra long nap, because that usually results in a late bed time or not so restful night of sleep, is finding something calm and quiet that Ella will enjoy for an extended period of time while her baby sister is napping. I wasn’t sure my idea would work, but for less than $5 it was worth a try. I dropped the crayons into my Walgreens basket and finished up the rest of my shopping. A few days later when Ella was being particularly needy and cantankerous, I remember that I had the crayons. I plopped her in the high chair, told her she could color ON the tray (THIS was a hit of an idea!) , and then every so often when she was done I would snap a quick pic of her masterpiece and then wipe the tray clean for her to start again.

I’ve started a file on my computer and I’m planning to pic some of my faves out and make a book each year, if I leave a few blank pages I can even glue in some of her paintings and other art work. Personally, I’m feeling impressed with my brilliance right now.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen Stalcup
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 09:01:22

    What a cute idea, I never would have thought to color right on the tray. Will definitely have to try. My son is not the sit still type, so I end up chasing him and neither of us gets anything done. 😉 Hopefully this idea will help.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 11:38:39

    Excellent idea! I think you can use these in the tub too. I know dry erase markers come off bath tubs easily 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

