Spin Art: Two Ways to Paint Spinning Fun!

My older daughter, Ella, is currently obsessed with all things paint. Her attention span isn’t so great though, so I’m constantly looking for new ways to do stuff. Having more than one thing lined up at a time is also key with her. I mean, if I’m taking out the paint, I’m determined for the craft to last at least 15 minutes. So, today we did spin are two different ways.

We don’t have one of those cool motorized spin art things that I used as a kid at camp, although after today I’m adding it to my craft wish list. So instead, for our first go at spin art, we used my salad spinner. Yup, you heard me right. I cut the edges off a paper plate, dropped some globs of paint on it, and we spun spun spun. They turned out ok, but I think we need thinner paint, and more paint in the future. I’ll probably experiment on my own and let you all know what I think needs to be changed.

For our second spin art craft, I went with a technique I’ve seen in a few different places. I taped a piece of paper to the floor, then flipped a paper plate over and dropped some paint blobs on the back. I flipped it over on the paper and showed Ella how to spin it in a circle. the results were pretty nice and she enjoyed it enough to give it a go with a second set of colors!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. happylittlekiwi
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 02:18:53

    awesome idea! might give this a try with my daughter she is obsessed with paint too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

